top of page

Tennis awards time – will Rhiwbina win again?

The volunteers, players, coaches and officials behind the latest achievements in Welsh tennis will be rewarded at the Tennis Wales Awards, where Rhiwbina Tennis Club enjoyed success last time around.

Nominations are now being invited in the following categories:

• Volunteer of the Year

• Inspire2Coach Young Volunteer of the Year Award

• Tennis Club/Centre of the Year

• Performance Coach of the Year

• Development Coach of the Year

• Team of the Year

• Club Team of the Year

• Player of the Year

• Local Authority Contribution

• Outstanding Contribution

In last year’s awards, presented at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama in Cardiff in January, Rhiwbina Tennis Club’s Ladies 1st team was named top club team of the year.

Rhiwbina Ladies enjoyed a superb 2013, winning Division 1 of the South Wales Doubles League and then beating Swansea 6-0 in the play-off to secure their spot in Premier 2 for the 2014 season.

The women’s team beat off the challenge of Rhiwbina’s men’s 1st team, who were also shortlisted for the same award.

Rhiwbina missed out of the club or centre of the year award, which went to Penarth LTC. Perhaps they’ll be luckier this time around?

“It has been an excellent year for Welsh tennis,” said Peter Drew. Chief executive of our client, Tennis Wales. “At the elite level we’ve seen Josh Milton win his first ATP title, and seen some of our juniors achieve great individual results in Britain and abroad.

“At the grass roots level, there have been spectacular increases in numbers playing tennis in schools across Wales as well as the number of adults playing recreational tennis.

“Success in Welsh tennis is driven by the excellence and hard work of passionate and committed volunteers and professionals across all of Wales. The awards are the opportunity to celebrate the achievements of these inspirational people within our sport “

Nominations are now open until Monday October 13, and the winners will be announced at the annual awards ceremony on Saturday January 24, 2015 at St David’s Park Hotel, Ewloe in Flintshire.

Application forms are available from Maria Rees at Tennis Wales or

3 views0 comments


bottom of page