top of page

Rhiwbina on shortlist for two tennis awards

Rhiwbina Tennis Club is in the running for two awards.

The club has been shortlisted in two categories at the annual Tennis Wales awards: Club/Centre of the Year, in which it is up against Penarth Windsor LTC,  and Newtown Tennis Club; and Club Team of the Year, in which Rhiwbina Men’s 1st team faces the challenge of Dinas Powis LTC Ladies 3rd Vets doubles, and Cardiff LTC Men’s Doubles 1st.


There are 10 categories in all, and the winners will be announced at the awards night to be held on Saturday 20th February 2016 at the Royal Welsh College Music and Drama in Cardiff.

“The awards not only recognise success on court, but also those who make it possible for thousands of people of all ages and abilities to enjoy tennis at so many venues and in so many forms all over Wales,” said Peter Drew, chief executive officer for Tennis Wales.

The shortlisted finalists are:

Volunteer of the Year: Sally Caiger (Overton on Dee), Alun Bowditch (Aberdare TC), Randall Edwards (Cardiff LTC);

Young Volunteer of the Year: Luke Difranco (Newport TC), Timothy Malia (Mold TC), Jack Grayer (Abergavenny TC);

Coach of the Year: Jonathan Morgan (Caerphilly TC),  Robert Wedlake (Penarth Windsor LTC),  Chris Lewis (XL Tennis, Cardiff);

Club/Centre of the Year: Rhiwbina Tennis Club, Penarth Windsor LTC,  Newtown Tennis Club;

Community Venue: Montgomery Tennis Club, De La Beche Park (Swansea),  Wrexham Tennis Centre;

Education: Gower College Sport Department, Ffynone House School (Swansea), NPTC Newtown Campus;

Disability Programme: Swansea Tennis Centre; David Liddiard (Cardiff),  Newtown Tennis Club;

Team of the Year: Cardiff Met University, South Wales Ladies County O35s,  Team Wales at Commonwealth Youth Games;

Player of the Year: Matthew Story (Cardiff), Evan Hoyt (Llanelli),  Josh Milton (Cardiff).

Club Team of the Year: Dinas Powis LTC Ladies 3rd Vets doubles, Cardiff LTC Men’s Doubles 1st;  Rhiwbina Men’s 1st.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page