Rhiwbina Ladies net top tennis award

Rhiwbina Ladies wide

Congratulations to Rhiwbina Tennis Club’s Ladies 1st team, who were named top club team of the year at the Tennis Wales awards last night (Saturday 18th Jan).

Rhiwbina Ladies enjoyed a superb 2013, winning Division 1 of the South Wales Doubles League and then beating Swansea 6-0 in the play-off to secure their spot in Premier 2 for the 2014 season.

In a ceremony at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama in Cardiff, the team received their award from Mike Clarke, chair of Tennis Wales.

The women’s team beat off the challenge of Rhiwbina’s men’s 1st team, who were also shortlisted for the same award.

Rhiwbina missed out of the club or centre of the year award, which went to Penarth LTC.

Other winners on the night included Chris Hill of Crickhowell, who won the player of the year award. The President’s Award for services to tennis went to Mike Davies, originally from Swansea, a former British No 1 and Wimbledon finalist, who helped change the face of world tennis with innovations such as coloured tennis balls and time limits between points.